Kontakt

Dr.-Ing. Martin Bruschewski

Oskar-Kellner-Institut (OKI) / Raum 116
Justus-von-Liebig-Weg 2
18059 Rostock

MRI flow lab
Albert-Einstein-Straße 2
18059 Rostock

Fon +49 (0) 381 498 - 9319 (Raum 116)
Fon +49 (0) 381 498 - 9328 (MRI flow lab)
Fax  +49 (0) 381 498 - 9312
martin.bruschewskiuni-rostockde

Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI)

Flow measurement in the MRI flow lab
Flow measurement in the MRI flow lab

Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) is a diagnostic method known from medicine. Among other things, this method enables two-and three-dimensional measurements of velocity and temperature fields, which is of great interest for engineering issues. In many cases, measurements are performed with water as fluid. However, measurements in other liquids and gases are also possible.

Although it is currently not possible to achieve the same resolution as in common measurement methods such as PIV or LDA, this method enables measurements in complex models without optical access and without additional particles or probes in the fluid flow. In addition, this method is capable of capturing millions of temperature and velocity data points within just a few hours. In combination with Rapid Prototyping or Additive Manufacturing methods, MRI enables new possibilities for the design and study of flow components. Where previously only numerical methods were available, MRI can be used to generate experimental data comparatively quickly and cost-effectively.

General measurement principle

Alignment of the nuclear spins in an external magnetic field
Alignment of the nuclear spins in an external magnetic field

MRI is based on the behavior of non-zero nuclear spins in an external magnetic field. A commonly used nucleus is the hydrogen nucleus (1H) contained in water. However, many other other atomic nuclei such as 13C, 19F, 23Na and 129Xe can be used as well.

In an external magnetic field, the spins align along the magnetic field and precess with a characteristic frequency, which depends on the magnetic field strength of the outer magnetic field. Their magnetic moments build up a longitudinal magnetization, which can be tilted into the transverse plane by an electromagnetic pulse. Through the precession of the magnetization vector in the transverse plane, a voltage is induced in the receiver coils.

However, the signal generated in this way does not contain any information about the spatial distribution of the spins. In order to obtain this information, magnetic field gradients are used to generate a location- dependent magnetic field and therefore a spatial differentiation in form of frequencies. This spatial encoding is classified into slice selection, frequency encoding and phase encoding. The sequence of the switched gradients and excitation pulses is known as pulse sequence.

The frequency spectrum of the resulting signal is presented in the so-called k-space. From this the final image is obtained by a two- or three-dimensional Fourier Transform. Modern whole-body MRI Scanners allow to capture three-dimensional images with an edge length of several 100 mm and a resolution of less than 1 mm.

Magnetic Resonance Velocimetry

3D Magnetic Resonance Velocimetry in a heat exchanger model (Bruschewski et al. 2016)
3D Magnetic Resonance Velocimetry in a heat exchanger model (Bruschewski et al. 2016)
3D Magnetic Resonance Velocimetry in an engine model (Freudenhammer et al. 2014)
3D Magnetic Resonance Velocimetry in an engine model (Freudenhammer et al. 2014)

Magnetic Resonance Velocimetry (MRV) is commonly referred to as phase contrast MRI. The result of such a measurement is a complex image in which the phase angles contain information about the velocity distribution in the field of view.

As the underlying principle, the movement of the fluid particles along a magnetic field gradient induces a phase shift. The measurement sequences used for this purpose contain bipolar gradients: Two equal but opposite gradients are performed in a way that moving-particles result in a velocity-dependent phase shift. Within the same sequence a spatial encoding is performed. The resulting signal contains information about the velocity distribution inside the examined object.

This methods allows accurate and quick measurements of three-dimensional velocity vectors in fluid flows. In modern MRI scanners, the measurable range of flow velocities extends from a few centimetres to several meters per second.

Magnetic Resonance Thermometry

3D Temperature- and velocity measurement in a heat exchanger model (Buchenberg et al. 2016)
3D Temperature- and velocity measurement in a heat exchanger model (Buchenberg et al. 2016)

Several parameters in MRI are temperature-dependent. This includes:

  • Proton resonance frequency
  • Relaxation times
  • Diffusion coefficient
  • Susceptibility

This results in various possibilities for measuring temperature fields with MRI. The most common method of performing Magnetic Resonance Thermometry (MRT) is based on the temperature-dependent change in the proton resonance frequency of water. Like in MRV measurements, this method encodes the information about the temperature distribution in the phase of the resulting image. This procedure can be used to measure three-dimensional temperature fields with temperature differences less than 1 kelvin.

Technical Data

MAGNETOM Trio von Siemens

  • 3 Tesla full body MRI Scanner with 600 mm inside diameter
  • highest magnetic field homogeneity in this scanner class
  • 40 mT/m or and 200 T/m/s magnetic field gradients
  • variety of transmitting and receiving coils with up to 32 channels
  • typical spatial resolution: 1 mm x 1 mm x 1 mm

Flow supply system

The currently available system consists of several water tanks with a capacity of 1.0 m³ and several flow circuits with temperature and volume flow control. With this setup, Reynolds numbers between 1,000 and 100,000 can be achieved in the model being studied. The design of a more powerful flow system is shown on the right. This system is intended to realize fully turbulent flow conditions at a Reynolds number of up to 1,000,000.

MRI Scanner in the MRI flow lab of the Institute of Fluid Mechanics
MRI Scanner in the MRI flow lab of the Institute of Fluid Mechanics
Future water channel at the MRI flow lab
Future water channel at the MRI flow lab

List of sources

Bruschewski  M, Freudenhammer  D,  Piro MHA, Tropea  C and Grundmann S.
New insights into the flow inside CANDU fuel bundles using magnetic resonance velocimetry
Proc. Comp. Fluid Dyn. Nucl. React. Safety, Cambridge, USA (2016)

Freudenhammer  D, Baum E, Peterson B, Böhm B, Jung B, Grundmann S.
Volumetric intake flow measurements of an IC engine using magnetic resonance velocimetry
Exp Fluids 2014; 55(5):1724

Buchenberg  WB, Wassermann F, Grundmann S, Jung B, Simpson R.
Acquisition of 3D temperature distributions in fluid flow using proton resonance frequency thermometry
Magn Reson Med. 2016 ;76(1):145-55

Kontakt

Dr.-Ing. Martin Bruschewski

Statikgebäude Haus IV / Raum 113
MRI flow lab

Albert-Einstein-Straße 2
18059 Rostock

Fon +49 (0) 381 498 - 9315 (Raum 113)
Fon +49 (0) 381 498 - 9328 (MRI flow lab)
Fax  +49 (0) 381 498 - 9312
martin.bruschewski@uni-rostock.de

Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI)

Magnetresonanztomographie (MRT)

Strömungsmessung im MRI flow lab
Strömungsmessung im MRI flow lab

Die Magnetresonanztomographie ist ein aus der Medizin bekanntes, bildgebendes Diagnose-Verfahren, welches unter anderem die zwei- und dreidimensionale Erfassung von Geschwindigkeits- und Temperaturfeldern ermöglicht. In der Regel wird dabei Wasser als Fluid verwendet, jedoch sind auch Messungen in anderen Flüssigkeiten und Gasen möglich.

Zwar können zum jetzigen Standpunkt noch nicht die gleichen Auflösungen wie in den üblichen Messverfahren (PIV, LDA etc.) erreicht werden, allerdings kommt dieses Verfahren ganz ohne optischen Zugang und zusätzliche Partikel oder Sensoren in der Strömung aus. Des Weiteren können mit dieser Methode innerhalb nur weniger Stunden Millionen von Temperatur- und Geschwindigkeitsmesspunkten erfasst werden. Wo zuvor meist nur numerische Methoden zu Verfügung standen, können mit dieser Messtechnik – insbesondere in Kombination mit Rapid-Prototyping oder Additive-Manufacturing-Methoden – vergleichsweise schnell und kostengünstig experimentelle Daten erzeugt werden.

Allgemeines Messprinzip

Ausrichtung der Kernspins in einem äußeren Magnetfeld
Ausrichtung der Kernspins in einem äußeren Magnetfeld

Die Magnetresonanztomographie beruht auf dem Verhalten des Kernspins von Atomkernen in einem äußeren Magnetfeld. Voraussetzung ist ein Kernspin ungleich Null. Am häufigsten wird der im Wasser enthaltende Wasserstoffkern (1H) zur Untersuchung genutzt. Es können aber auch andere Atomkerne wie 13C, 19F, 23Na, 129Xe und viele anderen zur MR-Bildgebung genutzt werden.

Die Kernspins richten sich entlang des äußeren Magnetfeldes aus und präzedieren mit einer von der Magnetfeldstärke abhängigen Frequenz. Ihre magnetischen Momente bauen eine gemeinsame, longitudinale Magnetisierung auf, die durch die Anregung mit einem elektromagnetischen Impuls in die transversale Ebene gekippt wird. Durch die Präzession des Magnetisierungsvektors in der transversalen Ebene wird in den Empfängerspulen eine Spannung induziert.

Das so erzeugte Signal ist allerdings nicht ortsabhängig. Um eine räumlich Auflösung zu erhalten, werden Magnetfeldgradienten eingesetzt, die über eine Schicht-, Frequenz- und Phasenkodierung ortsabhängige Frequenzen erzeugen. Die Abfolge der geschalteten Gradienten und Anregungsimpulse wird als Messsequenz bezeichnet.

Das Frequenzspektrum des resultierenden MR-Signales wird im k-Raum aufgetragen. Durch eine inverse zwei- oder dreidimensionale Fourier-Transformation entsteht daraus das resultierende MRT-Bild. Mit diesem Verfahren können in modernen Ganzkörper-Magnetresonanztomographen dreidimensionale Bilder mit einer Kantenlänge von mehreren 100 mm und einer Auflösung von weniger als 1 mm aufgenommen werden.

Geschwindigkeitsmessung

3D MRT-Geschwindigkeitsmessung in dem Modell eines Wärmetauschers (Bruschewski et al. 2016)
3D MRT-Geschwindigkeitsmessung in dem Modell eines Wärmetauschers (Bruschewski et al. 2016)
3D MRT-Geschwindigkeitsmessung in dem Modell eines Motors (Freudenhammer et al. 2014)
3D MRT-Geschwindigkeitsmessung in dem Modell eines Motors (Freudenhammer et al. 2014)

Das Verfahren der Geschwindigkeitsmessung mittels MRT wird allgemein als Phasenkontrast-MRT bezeichnet. Das Ergebnis einer solchen Messung ist ein komplexes Bild in dessen Phase die Geschwindigkeitsinformationen kodiert sind.

Grundlegendes Prinzip dieser Messung sind die Phasenunterschiede, die durch die unterschiedlich schnelle Bewegung der Fluidteilchen durch das Magnetfeld während des Wirkens eines Gradienten entstehen. Die entsprechenden Messsequenzen nutzen biopolare Gradienten, bei denen zwei betragsgleich aber entgegengesetzte Gradienten nacheinander wirken. Gleichzeitig erfolgt die Ortskodierung, sodass das resultierende Signal Information über die ortsabhängigen Geschwindigkeiten enthält.

Mit diesem Verfahren können Geschwindigkeitsvektoren in Strömungen akkurat und schnell gemessen werden. Bei modernen Ganzkörper-Magnetresonanztomographen liegt der messbare Bereich der Strömungsgeschwindigkeiten zwischen wenigen Zentimetern bis mehrerer Metern pro Sekunde.

Temperaturmessung

3D Temperatur- und Geschwindigkeitsmessung in dem Modell eines Wärmetauschers. (Buchenberg et al. 2016)
3D Temperatur- und Geschwindigkeitsmessung in dem Modell eines Wärmetauschers. (Buchenberg et al. 2016)

Gleich mehrere Parameter der Magnetresonanztomographie sind temperaturabhängig. Dazu gehören unter anderem:

  • Protonen-Resonanz-Frequenz
  • Relaxationszeiten
  • Diffusionskoeffizient
  • Suszeptibilität

Daraus ergeben sich verschiedene Möglichkeiten zur Messung von Temperaturfeldern. Die gängigste Methode basiert auf der temperaturabhängigen Änderung der Protonen-Resonanz-Frequenz in Wasser. Wie auch bei der Geschwindigkeitsmessung sind bei diesem Verfahren die Informationen über die Temperaturverteilung in der Phase des resultierenden Bildes kodiert. Mit diesem Verfahren können dreidimensional Temperaturfelder mit Temperaturunterschieden kleiner als 1 Kelvin gemessen werden.

Technische Merkmale

MAGNETOM Trio von Siemens

  • 3 Tesla Ganzkörper-MRT mit 600 mm Innendurchmesser
  • höchste Magnetfeldhomogenität in dieser Geräteklasse
  • 40 mT/m, 200 T/m/s Magnetfeldgradienten
  • große Auswahl an Sende-/Empfangsspulen mit bis zu 32 Kanälen
  • typische räumliche Auflösung: 1 mm x 1 mm x 1 mm

Strömungssystem

Das aktuell zur Verfügung stehende System besteht aus mehreren Wassertanks mit einer Kapazität von 1,0 m³ und mehreren Strömungskreisläufen mit Temperatur- und Volumenstromregelung. Mit diesem Aufbau können Reynolds-Zahlen zwischen 1.000 und 100.000 im untersuchten Model erreicht werden. Der Entwurf eines leistungsfähigeren Strömungssystems ist rechts dargestellt. Mit diesem System sollen vollständig turbulente Strömungsbedingungen bei einer Reynolds-Zahl von bis zu 1.000.000 realisiert werden.

Magnetresonanztomograph im Magentresonanztomographielabor
Magnetresonanztomograph im Magentresonanztomographielabor
Geplanter Wasserkanal im MRI flow lab
Geplanter Wasserkanal im MRI flow lab

Quellen

Bruschewski  M, Freudenhammer  D,  Piro MHA, Tropea  C and Grundmann S.
New insights into the flow inside CANDU fuel bundles using magnetic resonance velocimetry
Proc. Comp. Fluid Dyn. Nucl. React. Safety, Cambridge, USA (2016)

Freudenhammer  D, Baum E, Peterson B, Böhm B, Jung B, Grundmann S.
Volumetric intake flow measurements of an IC engine using magnetic resonance velocimetry
Exp Fluids 2014; 55(5):1724

Buchenberg  WB, Wassermann F, Grundmann S, Jung B, Simpson R.
Acquisition of 3D temperature distributions in fluid flow using proton resonance frequency thermometry
Magn Reson Med. 2016 ;76(1):145-55